Airplane flying over tropical sea at sunset

Warning: Do not travel to any of these 19 countries

The travel season is here – but before you start picking out your vacation destination, the US State Department has issued a “Do Not Travel” warning deeming these 19 countries unsafe for Americans. What about Mexico?

“Do Not Travel” to these 19 countries, US State Department says

First, the good news: For those wanting to travel outside of the United States, the US State Department monitors other countries worldwide and ranks their safety level for US citizens wishing to travel to those destinations. The vast majority of countries around the world are safe enough for travel.

This year, the State Department has deemed 19 countries too dangerous for American travelers due to a number of reasons, but prominently because of kidnappings, crime, terrorism, civil unrest, and military actions.

The State Department has given these 19 countries their strongest warning label: “Do Not Travel.”

Understanding the US State Department travel advisory levels

When the State Department issues travel advisories, it categorizes them according to the following four levels, low to high.

1. Exercise normal precautions.

2. Exercise increased caution.

3. Reconsider travel.

4. Do not travel.

The State Department also posts a worldwide travel map, which uses color coding to show the various safety levels of regions around the world, as well as indicators showing the locations of US embassies, consulates, Consulate General, consular agent, and a consular section.

You can also learn more about safe travel in this 90-second travel safety video from the US State Department.

Do not travel to any of these 19 countries

Here is a list of the 19 countries the US State Department says Americans should not travel to in 2023.

1. Venezuela. Threats: Kidnapping, crime, civil unrest, arbitrary enforcement of local laws, wrongful detentions, terrorism, and poor health infrastructure.

2. Iraq. Threats: Terrorism, kidnapping, armed conflict, civil unrest.

3. Somalia. Threats: Crime, kidnapping, piracy, terrorism, civil unrest, health issues.

4. Haiti. Threats: Kidnapping, crime, and civil unrest.

5. Ukraine. Threats: War.

6. Afghanistan. Threats: Kidnapping, crime, terrorism, civil unrest, armed conflict.

7. Yemen. Threats: Kidnapping, crime, terrorism, civil unrest, armed conflict, landmines, health risks.

8. Syria. Threats: Kidnapping, terrorism, civil unrest, armed conflict, unjust detention.

9. Sudan. Threats: Kidnapping, terrorism, civil unrest, armed conflict.

10. South Sudan. Threats: Violent crime, kidnappings, carjackings, shootings, ambushes, assaults, robberies, sexual assaults, and other violent crimes.

11. North Korea. Threats: Critical and serious risk of arrest and long-term detention of US nationals.

12. Libya. Threats: Kidnapping, crime, terrorism, civil unrest, and armed conflict.

13. Iran. Threats: Kidnapping, arbitrary arrests, and detentions.

14. Burma (Myanmar). Threats: Civil unrest and armed conflict.

15. Russia. Threats: Harassment, arbitrary detainment.

16. Mali. Threats: Violent crime, armed robbery, terrorism, kidnapping.

17. Central African Republic. Threats: Crime, kidnappings, civil unrest.

18. Burkina Faso. Threats: Kidnapping, crime, terrorism.

19. Belarus. Threats: Detention, arbitrary enforcement of laws, effects of Ukraine war.

Although not on the list as a whole, there are many areas of Mexico that the State Department has designated as “Do Not Travel” regions.